Relinquishment of a seat in the Council (1996-2021)

1. In accordance with paragraph 15, of section 3, of the annex to the 1994 Agreement, the Council shall consist of 36 members elected by the Assembly.

2. However, in attempting a formula for equitable geographic distribution among the membership of the Council, the Assembly of the ISA agreed on the following formula:

Group	Seats
African States Group	10
Asia-Pacific States Group	9
Eastern European States Group	3
Latin American and Caribbean States Group	7
Western European and Other States Group	8

3. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with an understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation.

4. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberation of the Council without the right to vote, during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

5. The information of the relinquishment of a seat in the Council is as follows:

YEAR	GROUP	STATE
1996	ISBA/A/L.8	
1997	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	x ¹
1998	Western European and Other States Group	Austria
1999	African States Group	x ²
2000	Asia-Pacific States Group	Philippines
2001	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	Guyana
2002	Western European and Other States Group	Malta
2003	African States Group	Algeria
2004	Asia-Pacific States Group	Myanmar
2005	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	Trinidad and Tobago
2006	Western European and Other States Group	Canada
2007	African States Group	Senegal
2008	Asia-Pacific States Group	Fiji
2009	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	Guyana
2010	Western European and Other States Group	France
2011	African States Group	Angola
2012	Asia-Pacific States Group	Qatar

¹ There were 6 members of the Council from the Latin American and Caribbean Group.

² There were 9 members of the Council from the African Group.

2013	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	Brazil
2014	Western European and Other States Group	Italy
2015	African States Group	South Africa
2016	Asia-Pacific States Group	Bangladesh
2017	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	N/A (36 members)
2018	Western European and Other States Group	N/A (36 members)
2019	African States Group	Mozambique
2020	Asia-Pacific States Group	Tonga
and		
2021		
2022	Latin American and Caribbean States Group	