INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY

Assembly



Distr.
GENERAL

ISBA/4/A/6* 27 April 1998

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY Fourth session Kingston, 16-27 March 1998

DECISION OF THE ASSEMBLY OF THE INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY RELATING TO THE ELECTION TO FILL THE VACANCIES ON THE COUNCIL, IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 161, PARAGRAPH 3, OF THE CONVENTION

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years. At the first election, however, the term of one half of the members of each group referred to in paragraph 1 shall be two years."

<u>Considering</u> that 18 seats on the Council will therefore fall vacant at the end of the two-year period, 1

 $\underline{ t Elects}$ the following to fill the vacancies in the Council for a four-year period as from 1 January 1999, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:

Group A

Russian Federation United States of America

Group B2

Germany Netherlands

98-11404 (E) 280498

/...

^{*} Re-issued for technical reasons.

Group C3

Canada Chile

Group D4

Egypt Fiji Jamaica

Group E5

Austria
Cameroon
Costa Rica
Nigeria
Pakistan
Paraguay
Republic of Korea
Saudi Arabia
Tunisia

54th Meeting 26 March 1998

Notes

- 1 In accordance with the decision of the Assembly at its 53rd Meeting (ISBA/4/A/5), the term of office of one half of the members of each group in the Council will end on 31 December 1998.
- 2 In Group B, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996, India would be elected to a four-year term in 2001.
 - ³ In Group C:
- (a) Canada would be elected for four years and would serve from 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2002, after which Australia would be elected for four years to serve from 1 January 2003 to 31 December 2006. The seat to be vacated by Australia would then be open for election to any State eligible to represent Group C on the Council;
- (b) Poland would serve from 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2000, after which the seat to be vacated by Poland would be open for election to any State eligible to represent Group C on the Council, on the basis that Poland would serve for two years during the period 2001-2006;
- (c) Gabon would serve from 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2000, after which South Africa would be elected for four years, with the understanding that it would serve for two years and then relinquish its seat to Zambia for the third

year and to Gabon for the fourth year. The seat to be vacated by Gabon on 31 December 2004 would then be open for election to any State eligible to represent Group C on the Council;

- (d) Chile would be elected for four years and would serve from 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2000, after which it would relinquish its seat to Indonesia. The seat to be vacated by Indonesia on 31 December 2002 would then be open for election to any State eligible to represent Group C on the Council.
- 4 In Group D, Egypt would relinquish its seat after two years at the end of the year 2000.
 - ⁵ In Group E:
 - (a) Costa Rica would relinquish its seat after two years;
- (b) Austria would relinquish its seat in favour of Belgium at the end of 1999. Belgium would occupy the seat for one year until the end of the year 2000. The Western European and Others Group would determine who will occupy that seat for the remaining two years of that term;
- (c) In accordance with the understanding reached in 1996, the Philippines would participate in the deliberations of the Council without a vote during the year 2000 when the Asian group relinquishes a seat for that year.
