

Assembly

Distr.: General 3 March 2021

Original: English

Twenty-sixth session

Kingston, 27–31 July 2020*

Agenda item 18

Election to fill vacancies on the Council, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

Decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

Elects the following to fill the vacancies on the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year term from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2024, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups: ¹

Group A

China

Japan

Group B

India

The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the Group of African States, 9 seats to the Group of Asia-Pacific States, 8 seats to the Group of Western European and Other States, 7 seats to the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States and 3 seats to the Group of Eastern European States. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Group of Eastern European States will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.





^{*} Original dates. The meeting has been postponed sine die.

Group C

Canada

South Africa

Group D

Bangladesh

Brazil

Uganda

Group E

Argentina

Costa Rica

Czechia

Mauritius

Morocco

 $Nether lands^2\\$

Poland

Sierra Leone³

Spain⁴

Trinidad and Tobago

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland⁵

3 March 2021

2/2 21-02990

² The Netherlands is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after two years to Belgium for the year 2023 and after three years to Norway for the remainder of the four-year term (2024).

³ Sierra Leone is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after two years to Algeria for the remainder of the four-year term (2023 and 2024).

⁴ Spain is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after one year to Norway for the year 2022.

⁵ The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after two years to Norway for the year 2023.