

Distr.: Limited 16 September 2021

Original: English

Twenty-sixth session Kingston, 26–30 July 2021* Agenda item 20 Other matters

Draft decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority concerning the decisions adopted under silence procedure in 2020 and 2021

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling the impossibility of convening in-person meetings of the Assembly during the twenty-sixth session in 2020 and early 2021 owing to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic,

Having agreed that, under those prevailing circumstances, the Assembly was able to take essential decisions to advance the work of the International Seabed Authority,

Having also agreed to adopt under silence procedure decisions on time-sensitive matters while the COVID-pandemic prevents in-person meetings at the headquarters of the Authority,

Recalling that, under the silence procedure, decisions were deemed adopted if no objections were raised within 72 hours from the tabling of the proposal for adoption,

Recalling also that the President of the Assembly announced the adoption of each decision dealt with under silence procedure by circulating a letter to the members of the Assembly, which was also posted on the website of the Authority,¹

Stressing that this method was used in exceptional circumstances and does not amount to an amendment to the rules of procedure of the Assembly,²

Takes note of the following decisions adopted by the Assembly under silence procedure:

(a) Decision of 15 October 2020 concerning the procedure for the adoption of decisions by the Assembly during the twenty-sixth session of the Authority owing to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic;

(b) Election, on 29 October 2020, of the President of the Assembly;³

³ The Permanent Representative of France to the International Seabed Authority, Denys Wibaux, was elected as the President of the Assembly for the twenty-sixth session.





^{*} New dates of the in-person meetings originally scheduled for July 2020.

¹ All the letters from the President of the Assembly are available at www.isa.org.jm/node/19747. ² ISBA/A/6.

(c) Adoption, on 6 November 2020, of the agenda of the Assembly;⁴

(d) Decision of 6 November 2020 concerning the organization of the work for the twenty-sixth session of the Assembly;

(e) Election of Vice-Presidents;⁵

(f) Appointment of the Credentials Committee;⁶

(g) Adoption, on 20 November 2020, of a schedule and modalities concerning the organization of work for the twenty-sixth session of the Assembly;

(h) Election to fill vacancies on the Finance Committee;⁷

(i) Decision of 26 November 2020 to name the museum of the Authority in honour of Nii Allotey Odunton;⁸

(j) Decision of 3 December 2020 concerning the election of the Secretary-General of the Authority;⁹

(k) Decision of 17 December 2020 relating to the action plan of the Authority in support of the United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development;¹⁰

(l) Decision of 17 December 2020 relating to the implementation of a programmatic approach to capacity development;¹¹

(m) Decision of 31 December 2020 relating to the budget of the Authority for the financial period 2021-2022;¹²

(n) Decision of 3 March 2021 relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;¹³

(o) Decision of 6 July 2021 concerning the extension of the terms of office of the current members of the Finance Committee.¹⁴

⁴ ISBA/26/A/1.

⁵ On 13 November 2020, the Dominican Republic, Nigeria and Poland were elected as Vice-Presidents of the Assembly for the twenty-sixth session; on 23 November 2020, Nauru was elected as Vice-President of the Assembly.

⁶ On 13 November 2020, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Czechia, Lesotho, South Africa and Spain were appointed as members of the Credentials Committee for the twenty-sixth session of the Assembly; on 8 January 2021, Myanmar and Sri Lanka were appointed as members of the Credentials Committee.

⁷ On 26 November 2020, Fujimoto Shoko (Japan) was elected for the remainder of the term of Onuma Hiroshi (Japan), Philip Dixon (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) was elected for the remainder of the term of Ahila Sornarajah (United Kingdom), Fan Kejun (China) was elected for the remainder of the term of Sun Zhi (China) and Abderahmane Zino Izourar (Algeria) was elected for the remainder of the term of Mehdi Remaoun (Algeria); on 29 April 2021, Eleanor Petch (United Kingdom) was elected for the remainder of the term of Philip Dixon (United Kingdom), and Medard Ainomuhisha (Uganda) was elected for the remainder of the term of Duncan Laki (Uganda).

⁸ ISBA/26/A/15.

⁹ ISBA/26/A/16.

¹⁰ ISBA/26/A/17.

¹¹ ISBA/26/A/18.

¹² ISBA/26/A/19.

¹³ ISBA/26/A/20.

¹⁴ ISBA/26/A/23.