

Assembly

Distr.: General 4 June 2008

Original: English

Fourteenth session

Kingston, Jamaica 26 May-6 June 2008

Credentials of representatives to the fourteenth session of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chairman: Scott Sheeran (New Zealand)

- 1. At its 117th plenary meeting, on 3 June 2008, the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority appointed a Credentials Committee consisting of the following nine members: Burkina Faso, China, Finland, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Suriname and United Republic of Tanzania.
- 2. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 3 June 2008, and elected Scott Sheeran as its Chairman for the fourteenth session.
- 3. The Credentials Committee examined the credentials of the representatives participating in the current session of the Assembly. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat dated 2 June 2008 on the status of those credentials.
- 4. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum of the Secretariat, formal credentials issued by the head of State or Government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or a person authorized by the Minister had been received by the Secretariat for the representatives of the following 53 States participating in the current session of the Assembly: Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belgium, Cameroon, Chile, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, South Africa, Sudan, Tonga, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Viet Nam and Yemen.
- 5. As noted in paragraph 2 of the memorandum of the Secretariat, information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the current session of the Assembly had been communicated by means of facsimile or in the form of initialled notes verbale from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the

Authority, permanent missions to the United Nations or other government offices or authorities by the following 24 States participating in the Assembly: Algeria, Angola, Australia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Germany, Honduras, Iraq, Kiribati, Lebanon, Myanmar, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine and Zambia.

6. The Chairman proposed that the Committee accept the credentials of all representatives mentioned in the memorandum of the Secretariat on the understanding that formal credentials of representatives referred to in paragraph 2 of the memorandum would be communicated to the Secretariat as soon as possible. The following draft decision was proposed by the Chairman for adoption by the Committee:

"The Credentials Committee,

"Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the fourteenth session of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum of the Secretariat dated 2 June 2008.

"Accepts the credentials of the representatives concerned."

- 7. The draft decision was adopted by the Committee without a vote.
- 8. Subsequently, the Chairman proposed that the Committee recommend to the Assembly for adoption the draft decision contained in paragraph 10 below. The proposal was adopted by the Committee without a vote.
- 9. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Assembly.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

10. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Assembly for adoption the following draft decision:

Decision of the Assembly relating to the credentials of representatives to the fourteenth session of the International Seabed Authority

"The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority

"Approves the report of the Credentials Committee."

2 08-36584