

Assembly

Distr.: General 7 May 2010

Original: English

Sixteenth session

Kingston, Jamaica 26 April-7 May 2010

Decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

Elects the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2011, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:¹

Group A

Italy² Russian Federation

Group B

Republic of Korea France Germany

² It was agreed that Italy would relinquish its seat in Group A in favour of the United States if the United States became a member of the Authority; this does not prejudice the position of any country with respect to any intervening election to the Council.



¹ The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, 9 seats to the Asian Group, 8 seats to the Western European and Others Group, 7 seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 3 seats to the Eastern European Group. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

Group C

Australia Indonesia³

Group D

Fiji Jamaica Egypt

Group E

Viet Nam Qatar⁴ Cameroon Côte d'Ivoire Nigeria Chile⁵ Mexico

130th meeting 7 May 2010

10-35388

³ Indonesia is elected for a four-year term as a member of Group C with the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Chile after two years and will take up the seat in Group E that was previously occupied by Chile for the remainder of the four-year term.

⁴ Qatar is elected for a four-year term as a member of Group E with the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Sri Lanka after two years for the remainder of the four-year term.

⁵ Chile is elected for a four-year term in Group E with the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Indonesia after two years for the remainder of the four-year term.