

## **Assembly**

Distr.: General 25 July 2012

Original: English

**Eighteenth session** Kingston, Jamaica 16-27 July 2012

### Credentials of representatives to the eighteenth session of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority

#### **Report of the Credentials Committee**

Chair: Andrey Todorov (Russian Federation)

- At its 136th plenary meeting, held on 25 July 2012, the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority appointed a Credentials Committee consisting of the following nine members: Argentina, Germany, Ghana, Guyana, Japan, Myanmar, Russian Federation, Senegal and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 25 July 2012, and elected Andrey Todorov (Russian Federation) as its Chair for the eighteenth session.
- The Credentials Committee examined the credentials of the representatives participating in the current session of the Assembly. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the secretariat dated 25 July 2012 on the status of those credentials.
- As at 25 July 2012, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government, by the Minister for Foreign Affairs or by a person authorized by the Minister had been submitted for the representatives of the following 58 States participating in the eighteenth session of the Assembly: Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Spain, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Viet Nam.
- As at 25 July 2012, information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the eighteenth session of the Assembly had been communicated by



means of facsimile or in the form of initialled notes verbales from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the United Nations, permanent missions to the International Seabed Authority and other Government offices or authorities by the following seven States, and the European Union, participating in the Assembly: Angola, Djibouti, Guinea, Iraq, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda.

6. The Chair proposed that the Committee should accept the credentials of all representatives mentioned in the memorandum of the secretariat on the understanding that the formal credentials of representatives referred to in paragraph 2 of the memorandum would be communicated to the secretariat as soon as possible. The following draft decision was proposed by the Chair for adoption by the Committee:

"The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the eighteenth session of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum of the secretariat dated 25 July 2012,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives concerned."

- 7. The draft decision was adopted by the Committee without a vote.
- 8. Subsequently, the Chair proposed that the Committee should recommend to the Assembly for adoption the draft decision contained in paragraph 10 below. The proposal was adopted by the Committee without a vote.
- 9. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Assembly.

#### **Recommendation of the Credentials Committee**

10. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Assembly for adoption the following draft decision:

# Decision of the Assembly relating to the credentials of representatives to the eighteenth session of the International Seabed Authority

"The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority approves the report of the Credentials Committee."

2 12-44052