

Distr.: General 17 August 2016

Original: English

**Twenty-second session** Kingston, 11-22 July 2016

## Decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

*Recalling* that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

*Elects* the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2017, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:<sup>1</sup>

## **Group** A

China Japan

Group B

India

Group C

Canada South Africa

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, 9 seats to the Asian Group, 8 seats to the Western European and Others Group, 7 seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 3 seats to the Eastern European Group. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.





## **Group D**

Bangladesh Brazil Uganda

## **Group E**

Algeria Argentina Côte d'Ivoire Czech Republic Netherlands<sup>2</sup> Panama Poland Spain<sup>3</sup> Trinidad and Tobago United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland<sup>4</sup>

> 160th meeting 21 July 2016

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Netherlands is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after three years to Norway for the remainder of the four-year term (2020).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Spain is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after one year to Norway for the year 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is elected for a four-year term as a member of group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat after two years to Norway for the year 2019.