

Distr.: General 4 May 2016

Original: English

Twenty-second session Kingston, Jamaica 11-22 July 2016

Election of the members of the Finance Committee

List of candidates submitted by States parties

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The terms of office of the current members of the Finance Committee will end on 31 December 2016. In accordance with section 9 of the annex to the Agreement relating to the Implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982, 15 members of the Committee are to be elected by the Assembly for a period of five years, taking due account of the need for equitable geographical distribution and the representation of special interests.

2. Each group of States referred to in section 3, paragraph 15 (a) (b), (c) and (d), of the annex to the Agreement is to be represented on the Committee by at least one member. Until the Authority has sufficient funds other than assessed contributions to meet its administrative expenses, the membership of the Committee is to include representatives of the five largest financial contributors to the administrative budget of the Authority.¹ Section 9 of the annex to the Agreement also provides that States parties are to nominate candidates of the highest standards of competence and integrity. Members of the Committee are to have appropriate qualifications relevant to financial matters. No two members of the Committee are to be nationals of the same State party.

3. By a note verbale of 8 January 2016, the Secretary-General of the Authority invited the members of the Authority to submit, at their earliest convenience, but no later than 11 April, nominations of candidates for election to the Committee (see ISBA/12/A/13, para. 32).

¹ For 2016, the five largest contributors are (in alphabetical order) China, France, Germany, Japan and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.



16-07324 (E) 060516 ***1607324***

Name and nationality	Nominated by
Armas-Pfirter, Frida María (Argentina)	Argentina
Guyonvarch, Oliver (France)	France
Laki, Duncan M. (Uganda)	Uganda
Muraviov Konstantin, G. (Russian Federation)	Russian Federation
Onuma, Hiroshi (Japan)	Japan
Przybycin, Andrzej (Poland)	Poland
Rao, Koteswara M. (India)	India
Sornarajah, Ahila (United Kingdom)	United Kingdom
Spaulding, Kerry-Ann (Jamaica)	Jamaica
Storani, Reinaldo (Brazil)	Brazil
Sun, Zhi (China)	China
Wilkens, David (Germany)	Germany
Wong, Kenneth (Canada)	Canada

4. As at 11 April 2016, the secretariat had received 13 nominations. Members of the Authority were informed thereof by the secretariat through a note verbale of 3 May. The names of the candidates are as follows:

5. The statements of qualifications or curricula vitae of the candidates, in the original format and language submitted, are available at www.isa.org.jm/files/ documents/EN/22Sess/FC/CV-List.pdf.

6. Although there have been only 13 nominations to date, rather than the prescribed 15, the Secretary-General is able to confirm that, on the basis of those nominations, each group of States referred to in section 3, paragraph 15 (a), (b), (c) and (d), of the annex to the Agreement would be represented on the Committee by at least one member.