

Distr.: General 29 April 2016

Original: English

Twenty-second session Kingston 11-22 July 2016

Election of members of the Legal and Technical Commission

List of candidates submitted by States parties

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The terms of office of the current members of the Legal and Technical Commission ("the Commission") will end on 31 December 2016. In accordance with article 163 and article 165, paragraph 1, of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea ("the Convention"), the members of the Legal and Technical Commission are elected by the Council from among the candidates nominated by the States parties for a term of five years. Due account shall be taken of the need for equitable geographical distribution and the representation of special interests. Members of the Commission shall have appropriate qualifications, such as those relevant to exploration for and exploitation and processing of mineral resources, oceanology, protection of the marine environment, or economic or legal matters relating to ocean mining and related fields of expertise. States parties shall nominate candidates of the highest standards of competence and integrity with qualifications in relevant fields so as to ensure the effective exercise of the functions of the Commission. Pursuant to article 163, paragraph 2, of the Convention, the Commission shall be composed of 15 members. However, if necessary, the Council may decide to increase the size of the Commission having due regard to economy and efficiency.

2. The Council will recall that the agreed procedure for the nomination of candidates to the Commission is as follows (ISBA/13/C/6):

(a) At least six months before the opening of the session at which the election is to be held, the Secretary-General shall address a written invitation to all members of the Authority to submit their nominations of candidates for election to the Commission;

(b) Nominations for election to the Commission shall be accompanied by a statement of qualification or curriculum vitae setting out the candidate's qualifications and expertise in fields relevant to the work of the Commission and shall be received not less than three months prior to the opening of the relevant session of the Authority; nominations received less than three months prior to the opening of the relevant session of the relevant session of the Authority will not be accepted;



16-07053 (E) 030516 ***1607053*** (c) The Secretary-General shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of the persons nominated for election to the Commission in accordance with paragraph (a) above, indicating the nominating member of the Authority, and containing an annex with the statements of qualification or curricula vitae submitted in accordance with paragraph (b) above; the list shall be circulated to all members of the Authority not less than two months prior to the opening of the session at which the election is to be held.

3. The first election for the Commission was held in August 1996. After failing to reach agreement on the balance of regional representation on the Commission, the Council took advantage of the flexibility provided in article 163, paragraph 2, of the Convention and decided to increase the number of seats on the Commission from 15 to 22, without prejudice to future elections. The same procedure was repeated for the elections in 2001, 2006 and 2011. On each occasion, the Council decided to approve all the candidacies submitted, increasing the number of seats on the Commission from 15 to 24 in 2001 and to 25 in 2006 and 2011, without prejudice to future elections and the claims of the regional groups and interest groups.

During the twenty-first session, in July 2015, the Council discussed the 4. procedures for the election in 2016 of the members of the Commission. Many delegations raised concerns about the absence of some members from meetings of the Commission. A few delegations stated that, given the drafting of the exploitations regulations, the Commission required more expertise in the economics of mining projects, marine technology and environmental protection. One delegation recommended that candidates for the 2016 election be independent, have no conflict of interest, possess technical expertise and be fully committed to participating in all meetings of the Commission, and also recommended that such guidelines for candidate selection be included in the letter from the Secretary-General to member States inviting the nomination of candidates. The Council emphasized that the procedures adopted by the Council in 2007 (ISBA/13/C/6) must be strictly adhered to for the election of members to the Commission in 2016. The Council also reiterated the importance of the continued participation of members in all sessions of the Commission.

5. In accordance with the agreed procedures, on 8 January 2016, the Secretary-General of the Authority invited the members of the Authority to submit, at their earliest convenience but no later than 11 April 2016, nominations of candidates for election to the Commission.

6. As at 11 April 2016, a total of 30 nominations had been submitted by members of the Authority. The names of the persons nominated, together with details of their nominating member States, are set out in the table below.

| Name and nationality | Nominated by |
|--------------------------------------|--------------|
| Achapa, Dorca Auma (Kenya) | Kenya |
| Alcock, Mark B. (Australia) | Australia |
| Ascencio-Herrera, Alfonso (Mexico) | Mexico |
| Aurelio, Mario Juan A. (Philippines) | Philippines |

| Name and nationality | Nominated by |
|---|---|
| Awan, Khalid Mehmood (Pakistan) | Pakistan |
| Brekke, Harald (Norway) | Norway |
| Broadbelt, Winifred M. (Netherlands) | Netherlands |
| Cherkashev, Georgy A. (Russian Federation) | Russian Federation |
| Clark, Malcolm Ross (New Zealand) | New Zealand |
| González Carrillo, Montserrat (Chile) | Chile |
| Howorth, Russell (Fiji) | Fiji |
| Jarmache, Elie (France) | France |
| Joyini, Thembile Elphus (South Africa) | South Africa |
| Ju, Se-Jong (Republic of Korea) | Republic of Korea |
| Kotliński, Ryszard Andrzej (Poland) | Poland |
| Lee, Rena (Singapore) | Singapore |
| Leite, Carlos Roberto (Brazil) | Brazil |
| Madureira, Pedro (Portugal) | Portugal |
| Maestro González, Adolfo (Spain) | Spain |
| Ndougsa Mbarga, Théophile (Cameroon) | Cameroon |
| Okamoto, Nobuyuki (Japan) | Japan |
| Paterson, Gordon Lindsay John (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) | United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland |
| Reichert, Christian Juergen (Germany) | Germany |
| Rojas, Andrés Sebastián (Argentina) | Argentina |
| Samy, Mahmoud (Egypt) | Egypt |
| Tuhumwire, Joshua T. (Uganda) | Uganda |
| Utoikamanu, Siosiua (Tonga) | Tonga |
| Wakdikar, Milind P. (India) | India |
| Walker, Michelle (Jamaica) | Jamaica |
| Wu, Jun (China) | China |

7. The statements of qualifications or curricula vitae of the candidates, in the original format and language submitted, are available at https://www.isa.org.jm/files/documents/EN/22Sess/LTC/CV-List.pdf.