## INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY

## Assembly

NUMBER OF STREET

Distr. LIMITED

ISBA/6/A/L.3 12 July 2000

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY Resumed sixth session 3-14 July 2000

> DRAFT DECISION OF THE ASSEMBLY OF THE INTERNATIONAL SEABED AUTHORITY RELATING TO THE ELECTION TO FILL THE VACANCIES ON THE COUNCIL, IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 161, PARAGRAPH 3, OF THE CONVENTION

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

<u>Recalling</u> that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years."

<u>Elects</u> the following to fill the vacancies in the Council for a fouryear period as from 1 January 2001, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:<sup>1</sup>

Group A

Japan United Kingdom<sup>2</sup>

Group B

China India

Group C

Portugal South Africa<sup>3</sup>

Group D4

Brazil Papua New Guinea Sudan ISBA/6/A/L.3 English Page 2

Group E

Algeria Argentina Czech Republic Gabon<sup>5</sup> Guyana Malta Namibia Poland Senegal Spain Trinidad and Tobago

----

## Notes

<sup>1</sup> The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, 9 seats to the Asian Group, 8 seats to the Western European and Others Group, 7 seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 3 seats to the Eastern European Group. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that for the period 2001 to 2004 each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation as follows:

(a) in the first year (2001), Guyana will relinquish its seat in GroupE on behalf of the Latin American and Caribbean Group, which will occupy sixseats in that year;

(b) in the second year (2002), Malta will relinquish its seat in Group E on behalf of the Western European and Others Group, which will occupy seven seats in that year;

(c) in the third year (2003), Algeria will relinquish its seat in Group E on behalf of the African Group, which will occupy nine seats in that year; and

(d) in the fourth year (2004), the Asian Group will occupy eight seats. The Asian Group will nominate the member which will relinquish a seat in 2004 in 2002.

<sup>2</sup> United Kingdom is elected for a four-year term but may relinquish its seat in favour of France after two years if so requested.

 $^3$  South Africa will relinquish its seat in Group C to Zambia in 2003 and Gabon in 2004. After 2004, the seat would be open for election to any State eligible to represent Group C on the Council.

<sup>4</sup> Egypt was elected in 1998 for a four-year term on the understanding that it would relinquish its seat at the end of 2000. However, Egypt will continue to occupy its seat in Group D for the remainder of its four-year term, expiring on 31 December 2002.

 $^5$  Gabon will serve as a member of the Council in Group E for the period 2001 to 2003. In 2004, Gabon will occupy the seat in Group C.