

Distr.: Limited 13 August 2002

Original: English

Eighth session Kingston, Jamaica 5-16 August 2002

> Draft decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea:

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly, Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years."

Elects the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2003, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:¹

Group A

Russian Federation Italy²

Group B

Germany France

Group C³

Australia Indonesia

02-52127 (E) 130802 * **0252127***

Group D

Egypt Fiji Jamaica

Group E

Cameroon Chile Côte d'Ivoire Honduras Myanmar⁴ Nigeria Republic of Korea Saudi Arabia

Notes

- ¹ The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, nine seats to the Asian Group, eight seats to the Western European and Others Group, seven seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group, and three seats to the Eastern European Group.
- ² Italy will relinquish its seat in Group A in favour of the United States of America if the United States becomes a member of the Authority; this does not prejudice the position of any country with respect to any intervening election to the Council.
- ³ It is the understanding within the African Group that, for 2005, South Africa will be elected to the seat in Group C that is to be occupied by Gabon in 2004.
- ⁴ In 2004, Myanmar will relinquish its seat in Group E on behalf of the Asian Group, which will occupy seven seats in that year.