

Assembly

Distr.: Limited 25 July 2018 Original: English

Twenty-fourth session Kingston, 2–27 July 2018 Agenda item 13 Election to fill vacancies on the Council, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the Convention

> Draft decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

Elects the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2019, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:¹

Group A

Italy² Russian Federation

² Italy would relinquish its seat in group A in favour of the United States of America if the United States became a member of the Authority; this does not prejudice the position of any country with respect to any intervening election to the Council.



Please recycle



¹ The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the African Group, 9 seats to the Asian Group, 8 seats to the Western European and Others Group, 7 seats to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and 3 seats to the Eastern European Group. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group that relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

Group B

France Germany Republic of Korea

Group C

Australia³ Chile⁴

Group D

Fiji Jamaica Lesotho

Group E

Cameroon Ghana Indonesia⁵ Mexico Mozambique Nigeria Singapore Tonga

³ Australia is re-elected for a period of four years (2019–2022), on the understanding that, in 2021, it will relinquish its seat in group C to Indonesia. Australia will be a member of group E in 2021.

⁴ Chile is re-elected for a period of four years (2019–2022), on the understanding that, in 2020, it will relinquish its seat in group C to Indonesia. Chile will be a member of group E in 2020.

⁵ Indonesia is re-elected for a period of four years (2019–2022), on the understanding that, in 2020, it will relinquish its seat in group E to Chile and will occupy the seat in group C relinquished by Chile, and that, in 2021, it will relinquish its seat in group E to Australia and will occupy the seat in group C relinquished by Australia.