

Distr.: General 5 July 2001

Original: English

Seventh session Kingston, Jamaica 2-13 July 2001

Decision of the Council relating to the election of members of the Legal and Technical Commission

The Council of the International Seabed Authority

Decides, having regard to the provisions of article 163, paragraph 2, of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, but without prejudice to future elections, to increase the size of the Legal and Technical Commission to 24 members,

Elects the following as members of the Legal and Technical Commission for a five-year term of office:

Adamhar, Ferry (Indonesia)

Addam, Sami Ahmad (Lebanon)

Amjad, Shahid (Pakistan)

Armas Pfirter, Frida Maria (Argentina)

Beiersdorf, Helmut (Germany)

Betah, Samuel Sona (Cameroon)

Bjørlykke, Arne (Norway)

Carrera Hurtado, Galo (Mexico)

De Sá Leitão, Walter (Brazil)

Diène, Baïdy (Senegal)

Dos Santos Alberto Chissano, Miguel (Mozambique)

Gomaa, Mohammed M. (Egypt)

Glumov, Ivan F. (Russian Federation)

Hoffmann, Albert (South Africa)

Kajitani, Yuji (Japan)

Kang, Jung-Keuk (Republic of Korea) Lenoble, Jean-Pierre (France) Parson, Lindsay Murray (United Kingdom) Ravindran, M. (India) Rosa, Giovanni (Italy) Simpson, Alfred Thomas (Fiji) Urquiza Caroca, Rodrigo Miguel (Chile) Yuwei, Li (China)

Zaamwani, Inge K. (Namibia)

Decides also that the term of office of the members of the Legal and Technical Commission shall commence on 1 January 2002;

Decides further that for the purposes of future elections, Ms. Frida Maria Armas Pfirter (Argentina) shall be eligible for re-election for a further term of office notwithstanding her previous election as an additional member of the Commission on 22 March 2000.¹

72nd meeting 5 July 2001

¹ ISBA/6/C/3.