

GOVERNING BODIES

EEP-00

RSITY'S

Governing bodies

Structure and functions

Figure 12. Structure and functions of the different organs of ISA



Assembly

167 Member States + the European Union

- Supreme/political organ
- Power to establish general policies on any question or matter within the ISA competence
- Approves budget
- Approves recommendations provisionally adopted by the Council

Finance Committee

- 15 members including 5 largest contributors (as long as ISA depends on assessed contributions)
- All financial and budgetary matters must be considered by the Finance Committee



Enterprise

- Organ of ISA mandated to carry out activities in the Area directly
- Not currently operational. Interim functions carried out by the Secretariat



Secretariat

Secretary-General + Administrative and Technical Staff



Council

Group A – Major consumers (4) China, Italy, Japan, Russia

Group B – Major investors (4) France, Germany, India, Republic of Korea

Group C – Major exporters (4) Indonesia, Canada, Chile, South Africa

Group D – Developing States and special interests (6)

Bangladesh, Brazil, Fiji, Jamaica, Lesotho, Uganda

Group E – Equitable geographic representation (18)

Argentina, Australia, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ghana, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Nigeria, Poland, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, United Kingdom



Legal and Technical Commission

- 30 expert members
- Recommends approval of plans of work
- Proposes technical & environmental regulations to Council

Economic Planning Commission

• Not currently operational. Functions carried out by the LTC

Sessions of the governing bodies in 2021-2022

26th session of the Council (Part II) 6-10 December 2021

The Council resumed its in-person meetings in December 2021. The meetings were presided over by Rear Admiral (Retd.) Md. Khurshed Alam (Bangladesh), President of the 26th session of the Council.

The Council took note of the decisions it had taken under silence procedure during 2020 and 2021 and adopted a roadmap for 2022 for discussions on the draft regulations on exploitation of mineral resources in the Area.⁶²

The Council decided to extend the mandate of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the Enterprise until the end of the 27th session of the Council and to continue its consideration of issues relating to the Enterprise at its next session.

As recommended by the LTC, the Council approved the review of the environmental management plan for the

Clarion-Clipperton Zone (CCZ) including the designation of four additional areas of particular environmental interest (APEIs) to enhance the effectiveness of the existing network of APEIs in the CCZ (see Chapter 4 for more information on the CCZ).

The Council elected Mr. Ramesh Sethuraman (India) to fill the vacant seat on the LTC for the remaining part of the current term, until 31 December 2022, due to the passing away of Mr. Milind P. Wakdikar.

The Council endorsed the extension for a period of five years of seven contracts for exploration for polymetallic nodules in the Area held by the Interoceanmetal Joint Organization, the JSC Yuzhmorgeologiya (the Russian Federation), the Government of Korea, DORD (Japan), COMRA (China), Ifremer (France) and BGR (Germany).

The Council approved a memorandum of understanding between ISA and IORA.

Finally, the Council continued to consider the issue of the size and composition of the LTC, an issue that has been on its agenda since 2016, and decided to resume the discussion at its next meetings.



Rear Admiral (Retd.) Md. Khurshed Alam of Bangladesh presided over meetings of the 26th session of the Council



Ambassador Denys Wibaux of France was elected as the President of the 26th session of the Assembly

26th session of the Assembly 13-15 December 2021

The meetings were presided over by Ambassador Denys Wibaux of France as the President of the Assembly during the 26th session.

During its session, the Assembly took note of the decisions adopted under silence procedure in 2020 and 2021. The Assembly elected three members to fill vacancies on the Finance Committee for the remainder of the current term ending on 31 December 2022, namely: Mr. Christopher Hilton (United Kingdom), Dr. Kajal Bhat (India) and Mr. Thiago Poggio Padua (Brazil).

The Assembly approved two requests for observer status submitted by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation and

OceanCare, bringing the total number of observers to 94, including 32 non-governmental organizations.

The Assembly considered the annual report of the Secretary-General. It also considered reports on the implementation of the Strategic Plan and the High-Level Action Plan of ISA for 2019–2023 as well as an update on the status of implementation of the ISA Action Plan in support of the United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development.

Finally, the Assembly considered a supplementary report of the Finance Committee and adopted a decision on financial and budgetary matters. The Assembly also took note of a report of the Finance Committee on the development of rules, regulations and procedures on the equitable sharing of financial and other economic benefits derived from activities in the Area.

27th session of the Council (Part I) 21 March -1 April 2022

According to the roadmap endorsed by the members of the Council, the 27th session of the ISA Council will be held in three parts. The second part of the 27th session of the Council will take place in July 2022 and the third part in October-November 2022. The first part of the 27th session of the Council focused on the draft regulations on the exploitation of mineral resources in the Area.

The Council elected Mr. Tomasz Abramowski (Poland) as the President for the 27th session.

The open-ended working group on the financial terms of contracts and the financial model and payment mechanism for deep-sea mining, chaired by Mr. Olav Myklebust (Norway), held its fourth in-person meeting on 21 and 22 March. The Chair will prepare a briefing note for consideration by the Council in July 2022.

The three informal working groups established by the Council in February 2021 held their first in-person meetings and discussed i) the protection and preservation of the marine environment, facilitated by Dr. Raijeli Taga (Fiji), ii) inspection, compliance and enforcement, facilitated by H.E. Dr. Maureen P. Tamuno (Nigeria) and iii) institutional matters, co-facilitated by H.E. Ms. Georgina Guillén Grillo (Costa Rica) and H.E. Ms. Constanza Figueroa Sepúlveda (Chile). The facilitators received textual proposals on relevant draft regulations and draft standards and guidelines in April 2022. They will prepare their respective texts for consideration by the Council during the second part of the meetings in July 2022.

During its meetings, the ISA Council adopted a decision on the application for the extension of an exploration contract submitted by the Government of India.

The Council also considered the report of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the Enterprise.



The Council of ISA met at the Jamaica Conference Centre from 21 March to 1 April 2022