

Assembly

Distr.: General 12 July 2022

Original: English

Twenty-seventh session Kingston, 1–5 August 2022 Item 16 of the provisional agenda\* Election of members of the Finance Committee, in accordance with section 9 of the annex to the Agreement relating to the Implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982

## **Election of members of the Finance Committee**

## List of candidates submitted by States parties

## Note by the Secretariat

1. The terms of office of the current members of the Finance Committee began on 1 January 2017<sup>1</sup> and were extended by one year until 31 December 2022.<sup>2</sup> In accordance with section 9 of the annex to the Agreement relating to the Implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982, 15 members of the Committee are to be elected by the Assembly for a period of five years, taking due account of the need for equitable geographical distribution and the representation of special interests.

2. Each group of States referred to in section 3, paragraph 15 (a), (b), (c) and (d), of the annex to the Agreement is to be represented on the Committee by at least one member. Until the Authority has sufficient funds other than assessed contributions to meet its administrative expenses, the membership of the Committee is to include representatives of the five largest financial contributors to the administrative budget of the Authority.<sup>3</sup> Section 9 of the annex to the Agreement also provides that States parties are to nominate candidates of the highest standards of competence and integrity. Members of the Committee are to have appropriate qualifications relevant to financial matters. No two members of the Committee are to be nationals of the same State party.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> For 2022, the five largest contributors are (in alphabetical order) China, France, Germany, Japan and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.





Please recycle

<sup>\*</sup> ISBA/27/A/L.1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See ISBA/22/A/14.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See ISBA/26/A/23.

3. By a note verbale of 22 February 2022, the Secretary-General of the Authority invited members of the Authority to submit, at their earliest convenience, nominations of candidates for election to the Committee.

4. As at 12 July 2022, the secretariat had received 14 nominations. The names of the candidates are as follows:

Name and nationality	Nominated by
Ainomuhisha, Medard (Uganda)	Uganda
Akubor, Anastasia Francilia (Nauru)	Nauru
Alam, Khurshed (Bangladesh)	Bangladesh
Benninghofen, Jens (Germany)	Germany
Bhat, Kajal (India)	India
Fan, Kejun (China)	China
Fujimoto, Shoko (Japan)	Japan
Hilton, Christopher (United Kingdom)	United Kingdom
Kavina, Pavel (Czechia)	Czechia
Litvinov, Sergey (Russian Federation)	Russian Federation
Ortolland, Didier (France)	France
Pádua, Thiago Poggio (Brazil)	Brazil
Walton, Viola (Jamaica)	Jamaica
Wong, Kenneth (Canada)	Canada

5. The statements of qualifications or curricula vitae of the candidates, in the original format and language submitted, are available at https://isa.org.jm/files/files/ documents/CV-compilation-FC-2022-11-July.pdf.