

Assembly

Distr.: Limited 3 August 2022

Original: English

Twenty-seventh session Kingston, 1–5 August 2022 Agenda item 15 Election to fill vacancies on the Council, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

Draft decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

Recalling that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

Elects the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2026, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:¹

Group A

Italy² Russian Federation

² Italy would relinquish its seat in group A in favour of the United States of America if the United States became a member of the Authority; this does not prejudice the position of any country with respect to any intervening election to the Council.





Please recycle 🖉

¹ The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the Group of African States, 9 seats to the Group of Asia-Pacific States, 8 seats to the Group of Western European and Other States, 7 seats to the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States and 3 seats to the Group of Eastern European States. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Group of Eastern European States will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group that relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

Group B

France³ Germany⁴ Republic of Korea

Group C

Australia Chile

Group D

Fiji⁵ Jamaica Lesotho

Group E

Cameroon Ghana Indonesia⁶ Mexico Nigeria Sierra Leone Singapore Tonga

³ France is re-elected for a period of four years (2023–2026), on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat in Group B to the Netherlands for the year 2023.

⁴ Germany is re-elected for a period of four years (2023–2026), on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat in Group B to the Netherlands for the year 2025.

⁵ Fiji is re-elected for a period of four years (2023–2026), on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat in Group D to Nauru for the years 2025 and 2026.

⁶ Indonesia is re-elected in Group E for a period of four years (2023–2026), on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat in Group E to Nauru for the year 2023.