

INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP ON CAPACITY DEVELOPMENT, RESOURCES & NEEDS ASSESSMENT

10-12 February 2020 -Kingston, Jamaica-

Contact: capacity-development@isa.org.jm

Participants List

(7 February 2020)

	State Representatives	Name	Position title
1	Algeria	Mr Zino Adberahmane Izourar	First Secretary, Permanent Mission of Algeria to the UN
2	Argentina	Mrs Lucia Scheinkman	Directorate General for Legal Counselling, Division for the Law of the
			Sea and Ocean Affairs, Argentina
3	Brazil	H.E. Carlos den Hartog	Permanent Representative of Brazil to ISA
4		Mr Renato de Alencar Lima	Counsellor, Embassy of Brazil to ISA
5	Chile	H.E Francisco J.Bernales	Permanent Mission of Chile to ISA
6		Mr Roberto Alvarez	Counsellor, PM of Chile to ISA
7	China	H.E Tian Qi	Permanent Representative of China to ISA
8		Mr Jun JIANG	Deputy Permanent Representative of China to ISA
9	Cook Islands	Mrs Alex Herman	Cook Islands Seabed Minerals Commissioner
10		Mr Chris Brown	Deep Sea Minerals Advisor
11	Costa Rica	H.E Georgina Guillen Grillo	PM Of Costa Rica to ISA

12	Ecuador	Mr David Garzon Pico	
13	Egypt	Dr. Suzan M. El-Gharabawy	National Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries
			Alexandria- Egypt
14	Ethiopia	Mrs Lila Desta	Counsellor II/ Legal Advisor, PRUN, Ethiopia
15	Ghana	Mr Solomon Korbieh	Permanent Mission of Ghana to the UN
16	Indonesia	Mr. Gulardi Nurbintoro	Ministry of Foreign Affairs
17	Jamaica	H.E Kathy Ann Brown	Permanent Representative of Jamaica to ISA
18		Mr Hank Hedge	Geologist
19		Ms Deniese Sealey	Assistant Director, Economic Affairs Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade
20		Ms Aliecia Taylor	Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade
21		Ms Michelle Walker	Chair - LTC
22	Korea	Dr. Sunyoung Kim -	Diplomatic Attaché (Political and Economic) - Permanent Mission of Korea to ISA
23	Madagascar	Mrs Mialisoa Rakouth	Judge, Legal Adviser, General Directorate
24	Mexico	Mr Antonio Cruz-Diaz	Deputy Head of Mission of the Embassy and Alternative Representative
			of Mexico to the ISA
25	Myanmar	Mr Nyan Lin Aung	Counsellor, PRUN Myanmar
26	Nauru	H.E Margo Deiye	Permanent Representative of Nauru to ISA
27		Ms Francilia Akubor	Legal Advisor, Nauru
28	Nigeria	Mr N.E Ayaeze	Deputy Manager, Department of Petroleum Resources
29	Pakistan	Mr. Jawad A. Chatha	PRUN Pakistan
30	Russian Federation	Mr. Vladislav Kurbatskiy	Counsellor and Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of the Russian Federation to Jamaica
31	Sierra Leone	Mrs Hawanatu Kebe	Permanent Mission of the Republic of Sierra Leone to the United Nations
32	South Africa	H.E. Mathu Joyini	Deputy Director General Training, Research and Development
33	Tonga	Mr Taaniela Kula	Deputy Secretary for Natural Resources, Ministry of Lands, Environment, Climate Change & Natural Resources
34	Trinidad & Tobago	Mrs Amanda Fraser	Permanent Mission of Trinidad & Tobago to ISA
35	Uganda	H.E Duncan Laki	Permanent Mission of Uganda to the UN
36	African Union	Mr Paul Msoma	Interim Director, Africa Minerals Development Center, African Union

37	Commonwealth Secretariat	Dr Daniel Wilde	<mark>n/a</mark>
38	DOALOS	Ms Jessica Howley	Legal Officer
39	European Union	Mrs Marie Houdart	International Relations Officer
40	International Tribunal for	Mrs Ximena Hinrichs	Registrar
	the Law Of the Sea		
41	IOCARIBE	Dr Cesar Toro	Head of IOCARIBE Secretariat
42	National Deep Sea Centre,	Dr. SHI Xianpeng	(JTRC) National Deep Sea Centre, China
43	China (JTRC)	Dr. GAO Xiang	
44	National Oceanography	Mr Alan Evans	Marine Science Policy Adviser
	Centre, Southampton, UK		
45	UN DESA	Mr Sai Navoti	Chief, SIDS Unit
46	UNEP	Dr Lorna Inniss	Head, Caribbean Environment Programme
47		Mr Vincent Sweeney	Head, Caribbean Sub-Regional Office
48	UNESCO	Mr Massimiliano Lombardo	Programme Specialist in Natural Sciences
49	UNICEF	Mrs Mariko Kagashima	Resident Coordinator
50	UN-OHRLLS	HE. Mrs Fekita Utoikamanu	Under Secretary General and High Representative, OHRLLS
51		Mrs Shifaana Thowfeequ	Programme Management Officer, SIDS Unit
52	UN-OHRLLS – Technology	Mr Joshua Setipa	Director
	Bank		
53	World Maritime University	Pr. Ronan Long	Director, WMU-Sasakawa Global Ocean Institute and Nippon
			Foundation Professorial Chair
	tractors		
54	China Ocean Mineral	Mrs LIU Ying	n/a
	Resources Research and		
	Development Association		
	(COMRA)	M 0 M 1 II	
55	DeepGreen	Mr Corey McLachlan	Head of Stakeholder Engagement
56	Deep Ocean Resources	Dr. Keisuke Nishi	n/a
	Development Co. (DORD)	Da Illaich Ochusan Och essen	Hand of Continu IIOna Dannait Contamo and Analytical Figure 2011 DOD
57	Federal Institute for	Dr. Ulrich Schwarz-Schampera	Head of Section "Ore Deposit Geology and Analytical Fingerprint" -BGR
	Geosciences and Natural		
	Resources of the Federal		
	Republic of Germany (BGR)		

58	Global Sea Mineral Resources (GSR)	Mr. Francois Charlet	Exploration Manager - Marine Geologist, GSR
59	Japan Oil, Gas, and Metals National Corporation (JOGMEC)	Dr. Nobuyaki Okamoto	Deputy Director General, Metals Technology Department
60	Tonga Offshore Mining Limited (TOML)	Mr. John Parianos	Manager Exploration and Polymetallic Nodules
61	UK Seabed Resources Limited	Mrs. Jennifer Warren	Director, Regulatory Affairs - UK Seabed Resources, UK
	Observers to ISA		
62	Durham University's Centre for Borders Research	Mr Bruno Gabriel Costelini	Researcher
63	INTERRIDGE	Mr Jerome Dyment	Senior Researcher, Geosciences Marines
64	Pew	Dr Peter Edwards	Office, Program-Research & Science
	ISA		
65	Mr Michael W. Lodge		Secretary-General
66	Mr Alfonso Ascencio-Herrera		Legal Counsel / Deputy to the Secretary-General
67	Mrs Jih	yun Lee	Director, Office of the Environmental Management and Mineral
			Resources
68	Dr Marie Bourrel-McKinnon		Senior Policy Officer – SA to SG
69	Mr Chapi Mwango		Chief, Contract Management Unit
70	Mrs Charlotte Salpin		Senior Legal Officer – Regulatory Affairs
71	Ms Pratima Jahuri		Senior Scientist
73	Ms Gwenaelle Le Gurun		Legal Officer Communications Specialist
74	Mrs Katie Elles Mrs Michelle Bond		Librarian
75	Mrs Luciana Genio		Environment Analyst
76	Mrs Talatu Akindolire		Associate Legal Officer
77	Ms Kayon Wray		Senior Assistant - Training
78	Ms Shanique Gregory		Senior Communications Assistant
79	Mrs Keisha Dunn		Administrative Assistant
80	Mr Ryan Barbar		Staff Assistant
81	Mrs Tini Guitoba		Legal Adviser – ADSR Expert

82	Mrs Judith Owusu	Geochemist – ADSR Expert	
83	Mr Tearinaki Tanielu	Consultant	
84	Mr Rahul Sharma	Consultant	