







WORKSHOP FOR THE PROMOTION OF THE SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT OF AFRICA'S DEEP SEABED RESOURCES IN SUPPORT TO AFRICA'S BLUE ECONOMY

ADSR Project (#OceanAction16374)

PRETORIA, SOUTH-AFRICA

16-18 May 2019

Participants List

	Participating countries	Name and Position title	Position title	Contact
1	Angola	Mr Canga XIAQUIVUILA	Director General, Geological Institute of Angola	canga7@gmail.com
2		Mr Paulo TANGANHA	Technical Adviser for the Director General, Geological Institute	niva.tanganha@gmail.com
			of Angola	
3		Ms Ester BRAS	Secretary of the Director General, Geological Institute of	strbraz@gmail.com
			Angola	
4	Botswana	Mr Samuel SERERO	Manager – Information Technology, Botswana Geoscience	sereros@bgi.org.bw
			Institute	
5	Eswatini	Mr Vulindela Simphiwe KUNENE	First Secretary, Legal Affairs, PM Of the Kingdom of Eswatini	Vulindlela.Kunene@un.int
			to the UN	
6	Lesotho	Mr Malefetsane Seth MOSEME	Acting Dir. Legal Affairs, Ministry of Foreign affairs	mosemesm@yahoo.com
7	Liberia	Mr Gbemado-Medecy HESSOU	Acting Director, Liberian Geological Survey & Department of	medecyhessou@gmail.com
			Mineral Exploration & Environmental Research – Ministry of	
			Mines and Energy	
8	Malawi	Mr Kondwani DOMBOLA	Acting Director, Geological Survey Department	kdombola@gmail.com

9	South Africa	H.E MT. JOYINI	Deputy Director-General, Diplomatic Training, Research and Development (DIRCO)	JoyiniM@dirco.gov.za
10		Ms Dorothy Shosho BOTSI- THULANE	Botho Ubuntu Group	shosho@simattorneys.co.za
11		Ms Romi BRAMMER	State Law Adviser, Office of the Chief State Law Adviser, Diplomatic Training, Research and Development (DIRCO)	BrammerR@dirco.gov.za
12		Mr Simon CARDY	Director: Climate Change, Environment, Science and Technology, Diplomatic Training, Research and Development (DIRCO)	cardys@dirco.gov.za
13		Mr Avumile DLAKAVU	Deputy Director: Economic Diplomacy Training and Support (DIRCO)	dlakavua@dirco.gov.za
14		Ms TG KUMALO	Chief Director, Foreign Service Training and International school (FST&IS) (DIRCO)	kumalot@dirco.gov.za
15		Mr Carel LABUSCHAGNE	Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	lebeau@dmr.gov.za
16		Mr Moza MABUZA	Chief Executive Officer, Council for Geoscience, Republic of South Africa	mmabuza@geoscience.org.za
17		Mr Sibonakaliso MBATHA	Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	Sibonakaliso.mbatha@dmr.go v.za
18		Mr Andries MATSHENE	Chief Director: Mine Environmental Management Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	andries.matshene@dmr.gov.z a
19		Ms Lindiwe MEKWE	Acting Chief Executive Officer Petroleum Agency SA	mekwel@petroleumagencysa. com
20		Mr Setepane MOHALE	Chief Director: Mineral Promotion and International Coordination Department of Mineral Resources	setepane.mohale@dmr.gov.za
21		Mr Kgabo MOHOAI	Director-General, Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO)	
22		Ms Sophie MASIPA	SALDEHCO	Mas.sophie@gmail.com s.masipa@saldehco.com
23		Mr Thabo MOKOENA	Director-General, Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	Thabo.Mokoena@dmr.gov.za
24		Ms Shirley MATHE	Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	Shirley.mathe@dmr.gov.za

25		Mr Molefe MOROKANE	Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	Molefe.Morokane@dmr.gov.za
26		Mr Makgotha MACKAKA	Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)	makgotha.machaka@dmr.gov.
		_	, ,	Za Za
27		Ms Zahn NEL	Translator, Marketing, Communications & Stakeholder Engagement, Council for Geoscience	zahn@geoscience.org.za
28		Ms Nomqubelo		
29		Mr Billy NKHUMANE	Marine and Antarctica, Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO)	Nkhumanet@dirco.gov.za
30		Mr Eliah RALUSHAI	Senior Geologist, Council for Geoscience	eralushai@geoscience.org.za
31		Ms TshifhiwaTHOVHOGI	Senior Geologist, Petroleum Agency, Republic of South Africa	ThovhogiT@petroleumagency sa.com
32		Prof. Patrick VRANCKEN	Nelson Mandela University	Patrick.vrancken@mandela.ac .za
33		Ms Melinda WILLIAMS-MALUKA	Deputy Director: Marine and Antarctica, Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO)	Williams- Malukam@dirco.gov.za
34		H.E Lumka YENGENI	High Commissioner, Permanent Representative of the Republic of South Africa to ISA & President of ISA Council	yengenil@dirco.gov.za
35	Zambia	Mr Mukofu CHIPILAUKA	Director, Geological Survey Department	mukofuch@gmail.com
	Guest of Hon	our		
36		Mr Paal BJØRNESTAD	Deputy Chief of Mission and Minister Counsellor, Embassy of Norway to South Africa	Paal.Bjornestad@mfa.no
	Experts			
37		Mr Harald BREKKE	Legal and Technical Commission, ISA, Norway	Harald.Brekke@npd.no
38		Mr Chris BROWN	Legal Expert	cbrown@isa.org.jm
39		Mr Edwin EGEDE	Reader in International Law & International Relations, Cardiff University	EgedeE@cardiff.ac.uk
40		Ms Lowri GRIFFITHS	Head of the Maritime Policy Unit, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, UK	Lowri.Griffiths@fco.gov.uk

41		Mr Pedro MADUREIRA	Legal and Technical Commission, ISA, Portugal	pedro.madureira@emepc.mm.
				gov.pt
42		Mr Théophile NDOUGSA	Legal and Technical Commission, ISA	theopndougsa@gmail.com
		MBARGA		
43		Mr Mehdi REMAOUN	Coordinator of the African Group, Permanent Mission of	m.remaoun@mae.dz
			Algeria to the International Seabed Autority	
44		Ms Safiyya SEDICK	Taxonomist, Anchor Environmental Consultants, Republic of	safiyya.sedick@gmail.com
			South Africa	
45		Mr Michael SHEWCHUK	Legal Officer, UN DOALOS	shewchuk@un.org
46		Ms Samantha SMITH	Ms Samantha Smith, Head of Sustainability & External	samantha@blueglobesolutions
			Relations, GSR	<u>.com</u>
	AU-AMDC			
47		Mr Paul MSOMA	Interim coordinator, African Minerals Development Center	msoma@un.org
48		Ms Mariam NABATANZI	Partnership Officer	Nabatanzim@africa-union.org
	ISA			
49		Mr Michael W. LODGE	Secretary-General	Secretary-general@isa.org.jm
50		Ms Marie BOURREL-McKINNON	Senior Policy Officer – Special Assistant to the Secretary-	mbourrel@isa.org.jm
			General	
51		Mr Yongsheng CAI	Senior Legal Officer	Yshcai@isa.org.jm
52		Mr Chapi MWANGO	Chief, Contract Management Unit	cmwango@isa.org.jm
53		Ms Shanique GREGORY	Senior Communications Assistant	sgregory@isa.org.jm
	Note takers			
54		Ms Thanisa NAIDU-LEWIN	Note Taker, South Africa	naidu-lewint@dirco.gov.za
55		Ms Rosana DOS SANTOS	Note Taker, South Africa	dossantosr@dirco.gov.za
56		Ms S MAANZO	Note Taker, South Africa	maanzos@dirco.gov.za
57		Ms B SITHOLE	Note Taker, South Africa	sitholeb@dirco.gov.za