Ambassador Denys Wibaux, Permanent Representative of the Republic of France to the International Seabed Authority (ISA) has been elected as President of the 26th Session of the Assembly of ISA.

The election by Assembly members formally took effect on 29 October 2020, through a silence procedure similar to the process adopted by the 30th Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

The Secretary-General of ISA, Mr. Michael W. Lodge, congratulated Ambassador Wibaux on his election and wished the Assembly a successful 26th Session under his stewardship.

Former Ambassador of France to Bolivia and previously Head of the Internal Legal Affairs Service in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France and Director of the Legal Affairs and External Relations Bureau of the International Civil Aviation Organization, Ambassador Wibaux is serving in his current capacity as the Permanent Representative to ISA since 2018.

Mr. Lodge also commended outgoing Assembly President Senator the Honourable Kamina Johnson Smith, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Jamaica for her steadfast support of the work of the Authority, and strong commitment to strengthening the rule of international law in the ocean.

For more information on the 26th Session of the Assembly, including its documents, please visit:

For media enquiries, please contact:

Ms. Katie Elles, Communications Specialist, International Seabed Authority M: +1 (876) 838 8323/ E:


For more information visit our website or follow us on Twitter @ISBAHQ