JAMAICA, Kingston (13 November 2017) – – Secretary-General Michael Lodge today issued a Call for Nominations for the Secretary-General Award for Excellence in Deep Sea Research.

The Award is a first for the International Seabed Authority and is one of seven voluntary commitments made by the Authority at the 2017 UN Ocean Conference. 

The annual Award is intended to recognize and encourage the achievements of young researchers (under 35 years of age) from developing countries who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge of the deepsea environment or to the development of environmentally sustainable regulatory frameworks.

A five-member Advisory Committee recognized for their expertise in the field of deep-sea science (natural and/or applied); social sciences and humanities with experience in the law of the sea; international law and management of marine resources has been appointed by the Secretary-General to consider and evaluate all nominations.

These members are: Annick de Marffy Mantuano, President of the Scientific Board of the Economic Law of the Sea Institute (INDEMER, Monaco); Chunhui Tao, Researcher/Deputy Director of China Deepsea Exploration Tech and Geoscience R&D Centre, Second Institute of Oceanography; Biliana Cicin-Sain; Professor/Director/President, Global Ocean Forum; David Billet, Director, Deep Seas Environmental Solutions Ltd; and Lawrence Folajimi Awosika, Vice Chairman of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS).

For further information on the Award guidelines and eligibility criteria, visit the Authority’s website on .

The deadline for nominations is 15 April 2018. All nominations should be emailed to