LTC Group

Ms. Michele Walker of Jamaica was today, re-elected as Chair of the International Seabed Authority (ISA) Legal and Technical Commission (LTC), at the opening of the 26th Session meetings of the LTC in Kingston, Jamaica. Mr. Harald Brekke of Norway was re-elected as Vice-Chair of the LTC.

Members of the LTC will meet in Kingston from 24 February to 6 March 2020 to discuss as a priority matter, the development of standards and guidelines for activities in the international deep seabed area (the Area), which will support implementation of the draft regulations for the exploitation of mineral resources.

The LTC will also consider, amongst other areas, the review and development of regional environmental management plans (REMPs) and periodic reviews of the implementation of plans of work for exploration.

In his opening remarks, ISA Secretary-General Mr. Michael W. Lodge highlighted the extensive progress made towards the development of the standards and guidelines for activities in the Area.

“I wish to express my deep appreciation to the Co-chairs of the Technical Working Groups on Environmental Impact Assessments, Environmental Mitigation and Monitoring Plans, and Baseline Data for the great deal of work they have done inter-sessionally towards the development of the standards and guidelines. They have made remarkable progress,” said Mr. Lodge. 

“This week will provide the LTC Members with an opportunity to come together to evaluate the progress made, and to move ahead with some of these critical standards,” he added.

The LTC is a body of experts nominated by Member States and elected by the ISA Council to serve in their individual capacity. The current LTC was elected in 2017 for a five-year term and consists of 30 members.

For media enquiries, please contact: Ms. Katie Elles, Communications Specialist, International Seabed Authority M: +1 (876) 838 8323/ E: