News Article Image

JAMAICA, Kingston (23 July 2018) – – On 23 July 2018, the Secretary-General of the International Seabed Authority, Mr Michael Lodge, presented the inaugural edition of the ISA Secretary-General’s Award for Excellence in Deep Sea Research at the 24th session of the Assembly of the Authority.

The Secretary-General’s Award for Excellence in Deep Sea Research is one of seven Voluntary Commitments officially registered by the International Seabed Authority at the UN Ocean conference that was held in New York in June 2017 (#OceanAction15796).

This annual award is given to young researchers under 35 years old from developing countries, and recognizes the excellence of their contribution to the advancement of scientific knowledge of the deep-sea environment and the development of sound and efficient regulatory frameworks.

An Advisory Committee comprising internationally-recognised experts in the field of deep-sea science; social sciences and humanities with experience in the law of the sea; and  management of marine resources was appointed by the Secretary-General to evaluate the nominations.

Upon recommendation by the Advisory Committee, the Secretary-General of the Authority awarded the honour to Dr. Diva Amon from Trinidad and Tobago.

Dr. Amon, a Deep-Sea Biologist, was cited for her extensive research and exploration experience at sea including ROV, AUV and submersibles cruises.  She has been involved in several international projects designed to advance understanding of abyssal ecosystems and environmental impacts of human industrial activities in the deep sea. The results of her research and her passionate commitment to the field have been extensively commended by the scientific community.

On accepting her award, Dr Amon said she was extremely grateful for the nomination. She said the award was a reflection of a system not yet inclusive or accessible to small island developing States and to women and commended the ISA on the initiative.

L-R: President of the Assembly, Prof. Mariusz-Orion Jędrysek, Dr Diva Amon and ISA Secretary-General Michael Lodge.


– END –