Syamal Kanti Das of India was yesterday elected President of Council of the International Seabed Authority for 2010. 

Mr Das (Biographical Note) is currently Advisor of his country’s Ministry of Earth Sciences and Secretary to the Earth Science Commission of the Government of India.

At its session, Council also elected four vice-presidents : Cote d’Ivoire (African Group) Trinidad and Tobago (Group of Latin American and Caribbean States), Poland (Eastern European Group) and Italy (Western European and Others Group).

Also as part of its susbstantive work this session, Council has resumed work on the outstanding provisions of the draft regulations on prospecting and exploration for polymetallic sulphides in the Area.