The Secretariat

The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary-General  and organised into four functional units:

Office of the Secretary-General
Office of Environmental Management and Mineral Resources 
Office of Legal Affairs
Office for Administrative Services

The main functions of the Secretariat include:

  • Preparing and submitting draft texts, reports and other documents, analysis, research findings, policy suggestions and recommendations, etc.;
  • Providing secretariat services to the Assembly, the Council, the Legal and Technical Commission and the Finance Committee; providing information and advice to the bureau of those organs and bodies and to delegations; and assisting in planning the work of the sessions, in the conduct of the proceedings and in drafting reports;
  • Providing meeting services (including interpretation, translation, document reproduction services and press releases);
  • Producing publications, information bulletins and analytical studies;
  • Organizing and servicing expert group meetings, seminars and workshops;
  • Disseminating information on the activities and decisions of the Authority;
  • Programme planning and allocating resources for the effective, economic and efficient performance of the services and functions of the Secretariat